Feeling Small and Basking in His Majesty


The picture you see here was taken from a Swiss Air flight over the Alps at sunset.  Of course it does not begin to capture the grandeur of this mountain range.  I was on my way home to Italy from a set of meetings in Sweden.  The meetings had gone well.  A group of some 40 staff leaders had met to discuss ways to advance the mission among European university students.  We had also spent a day out among Swedish college students to talk to them about Christ.  I went away a little conflicted in my soul-while I was encouraged by our plans and the dedication of our staff I was also daunted by the lostness of these students.

There are three times I really feel small-when I am in the mountains, when I am at the sea-and when I am on an airplane.  I love the window seat, especially when I am traveling somewhere new.  This particular evening I needed to feel small-because when I feel small I am more open to see the greatness of God.  The Alps reminded me of His greatness.  Hear what is written in Job 37, “God thunders wondrously with His voice; He does great things that we cannot comprehend.  For to the snow he says, ‘Fall on the earth . . . stop and consider the wondrous works of God.'”

If God can make the Alps and cause snow to fall on the earth-then He can rescue the European university student from sin and condemnation.  When God is small to me I miss this perspective-when I am small and He is big I am reminded of His vast abilities.  May He be glorified!

One response to “Feeling Small and Basking in His Majesty

  1. first comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

